Posted in Technology by
Anthony Hortin

The latest Wacom Intuos4 Tablet driver now has a feature that enables you to backup and restore your tablet preferences. Like any sort of backup, this should be used to safeguard your settings in case of computer failure or file corruption.

Mac – OS X 10.4 or greater (incl Snow Leopard)

Back up

Choose “Wacom Tablet” from your Applications folder.

Double-click “Remove Wacom Tablet”
(Note: the name of this utility will be updated in an upcoming driver release).

After the utility has launched, select “Back-up”.

Choose the name and location of the backup file and click OK.

Restore

Choose “Wacom Tablet” from your Applications folder.

Double-click “Remove Wacom Tablet”.

After the utility has launched, select “Restore”.

Browse to the location of your backup file, select it and click on OK.

Windows – XP, Vista or Win7 (32 & 64 bit)

Back up

Go to Start – (All) Programs – Wacom Tablet.

Launch the “Wacom Tablet Preferences File” Utility.

After the utility has started, select “Back-up …”.

Choose the name and location of the backup file and click OK.

Restore

Go to Start – (All) Programs – Wacom Tablet.

Launch the “Wacom Tablet Preferences File” Utility.

After the utility has started, select “Restore…”.

Browse to the location of your backup file, select it and click on OK.

7 responses on “Backing Up And Restoring Wacom Tablet Preferences

  1. Manda Szewczyk

    This is SUPER helpful to me!! I’ve spent way too long getting my tablet set up the way I like it. This back-up will be a life-saver if I ever lose my settings. Thanks!

  2. Marcelo M.

    I have a problem with this preferences files. I have set up my prefs in a Mac, made a backup of the prefs and tried to open them under windows. The prefs files (.wacomprefs) appear as a folder in windows explorer and I wacom pref utility doesnt recognise them.
    Any solution?

  3. Kristian

    i had the same problem, the prefrence file utility would not recognize
    the backup file. what i found out after some time was that you also can doubleclick the backup file itself. this will load the settings stored in the file and overwrite the current settings. this is probably a bug within the utility.